How to Change Difficulty | FF7 Remake

Newest Guides
Butterfinger DLC Items now available for everyone!

New Video Guides available for Hard Mode Bosses!


This page contains information about Changing the difficulty setting in the game Final Fantasy 7 Remake (FF7 Remake). Read on to know how to scale up or tone down the difficulty setting according to your preference.

How to Change Difficulty

Change it in the System Menu

FF7 Remake Difficulties
Open up the Menu. Select Options -> Gameplay -> Difficulty . From there, choose the difficulty you would like the game to change to.

You can use this option to change the difficulty setting at any time outside of a battle. Even in the middle of a chapter, if you find that you're struggling or want to amp up the action, you can change the difficulty to match your preference.

After Completing the Game, Choose it on Chapter Select

After you've completed the main story once, you'll unlock the Chapter Select feature. When you jump to a chapter, you'll have the option to select its Difficulty setting, including the Hard difficulty option.

Even after you've completed the game, you won't be able to change to Hard difficulty from the System Menu. Also, after setting a chapter to the Hard difficulty, the option to change the difficulty from the System Menu will be disabled, so make sure you really want to try a chapter on Hard, or you'll have to restart the whole chapter to change the setting!

All Post Game Features

The Four Difficulty Settings

Classic Mode

FF7 Remake Classic Mode
Classic Mode caters to old school fans that have enjoyed the original game. While in Classic mode, Cloud automatically attacks and defends. This allows the player to focus on inputting commands rather than be pressured by the new combat system.

Classic Mode can also be used if the player simply wishes to enjoy the story and / or boss battles as cloud can easily breeze through normal enemies in Auto Mode. The difficulty of enemies encountered while in Classic Mode is the same in Easy Mode.

What is Classic Mode?

Easy Mode

FF7 Remake Easy Difficulty
For newer fans who want to enjoy the story. Easy mode severely weakens the enemies allowing the player to breeze through the game without running into major obstacles in the battles. Recommended for first timers and players who are less familiar with action games.

Normal Mode

FF7 Remake
The recommended mode for strategic players and fans of action games. Normal Mode forces the player to learn the fundamentals of the game such as issuing commands to allies, changing party members, utilizing every character's specialties, and even running away.

Normal Mode is a big step up from Easy Mode, so if you're having some trouble, try checking our guides to leveling up and farming AP and Gil to get an edge over your opponents.

Hard Mode

Unlocked after clearing the main story once on any difficulty setting, Hard Mode is nothing to scoff at. On top of facing much tougher versions of the foes you already faced, you'll also be bound by new limitations.

Hard Mode Differences

  • You cannot change the difficulty setting from the System Menu. To change the difficulty, you will need to use Chapter Select and go to the start of a Chapter with a different difficulty setting.
  • In Hard Mode, you can't use items at all. If you open the Commands Menu and hover over "Items", you'll see a notification that items cannot be used.
  • When using a bench at a rest area, your HP will be restored, but not your MP.
  • You'll receive Manuscripts for defeating most Bosses, as well as sub-bosses found within Side Quests.
  • New matches will be available in the Shinra Combat Simulator in Chapter 17.

Gameplay Manual Links

All Manuals & Game Mechanics

Playing the Game
Basic Controls
Camera Controls and Camera Settings
Map Navigation Guide
How to Change Difficulty
What is Classic Mode?
Menu & Equipment
Weapon Upgrade Guide | How to Learn Weapon Abilities
Character Stats
Battle Icons Guide
Status Effects and Ailments
Combat & Battle System
Battle System Guide and How to Fight
How to Stagger Enemies to 200% and 300%
Understanding the ATB Gauge
How to Change Characters
How to Get Unbound
How to Use Items
How to Restore HP and MP
How to Run Away
How to Summon
How to Use Shortcuts
Game Mechanics for Advanced Players
How Do Critical Hits Work?
How Does Stunning Work? | Enemy Interruption
How to Recover MP in Hard Mode
Can You Break the Damage Cap?


37 Anonymous10 months

>>36 I mean to add.

36 Anonymous10 months

So you need to complete the game once to complete hard mode right?

    The Like Feature

    You can save a comment for later by giving it a Like.
    As a member:Get access to several features!

    Opinions about an article or post go here.
    Opinions about an article or post
    We at Game8 thank you for your support.
    In order for us to make the best articles possible, share your corrections, opinions, and thoughts about "How to Change Difficulty" with us!
    When reporting a problem, please be as specific as possible in providing details such as what conditions the problem occurred under and what kind of effects it had.

    Walkthrough Menu

    New Comment

    • Private sеx dating site ->

    • Hi guys I just defeated Valkyrie on hard mode but I didn’t get the manuscript is this a glitch can I fix it without having to go through the chapter again

    All rights reserved

    Back to the Top
    Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more