Wait Mode or Active Mode?

This is a guide for the two combat modes in Final Fantasy XV. Read on to learn more about these modes and which of them fits your playstyle!

Combat Modes

There are 2 combat modes in this game, Wait Mode and Active Mode. You can toggle between these modes by opening the Pause Menu > Options > Combat.

Wait Mode

Wait Mode

Wait Mode triggers when you stand still in battle. In this mode, everything will be frozen and you will get to think of a strategy and prepare before doing anything.

While in Wait Mode, you can freely scan enemies with Libra by holding R1 for a certain amount of time. After a while, you will see the level, name, HP, and the resistances of the enemy that you scanned.

Lines will appear while this mode is activated. The blue lines show which enemy you and your allies are targeting while red lines show which of your party members are being targeted by the enemy at the other end of the line.

You can also use the right stick to cycle between the enemies and locate warp-points to recover on, look for safe places, or find a strategic location.

Take note that there is a wait timer while in this mode that disables Wait Mode for the current battle once it runs out. You can bypass this, however, by unlocking the Time-Freeze ability in the Wait Mode Astralsphere.

Active Mode

Active mode

Using Active Mode will let you play the game normally like any other Action RPGs. Choose this mode if you always move around the battlefield and does not want to be interfered with sudden time freeze. This mode is also recommende for players who want a fast paced playthrough.

You will have to rely on Ignis's Analyze ability (unlocked through Ascension) to scan the enemies with Libra since manual scan is not available in Active Mode.


On top of all that, we would recommend using Wait Mode especially during difficult battles as you can always switch to a "Pseudo-active mode" by always moving around the battlefield or attacking enemies.

Related Articles

FFXV Beginner

All Beginner's Tips and Guides

Basics of the Game
Basic Commands and Controls How to Fast Travel
Recommended Settings Before Starting How to Save Game and Save Locations
Should I Drive at Night? What Dialogue Options to Choose
What to Do When You Run Out of Fuel How to Sprint Infinitely
Things to Do in Each Town How to Fast Forward to Nighttime
How to Use Potions and Items How to Change Appearance
Combat Tips
Combat Guide How to Point-warp and Warp-strike Easily
Wait Mode or Active Mode? How to Beat Daemons
How to Use Summons How to Get High Grades on Report Cards
How to Use Ring Magic How to Break the Damage Limit
When to Use Royal Arms Elemancy System and How to Use Spells
How to Switch Characters -
Growth Guide
Explanation of Character Levels and Stats Best Early Game Ascension Abilities
How to Farm AP How to Increase Skill Levels
Merits and Demerits of Camping How to Level Up Quickly
How to Farm EXP Quickly -
Gil and Items
How to Earn Gil Quickly How to Get Rare Coins
What to Buy Early in the Game Best and Worst Treasure Items to Sell
List of Best Weapons and How to Get Them List of Best Accessories and How to Get Them
List of Royal Arms Locations List of Upgradable Weapons
Side Quests
Bounty Hunting Guide How to Get Chocobos
How to Increase Hunter Rank How to Unlock Regalia Type-F
How to Fish and Catch Big Fish How to Win Chocobo Races
Justice Monsters Five Guide and Rewards How to Use Multiple Balls at Once (Justice Monsters Five)


    Walkthrough Menu


    All rights reserved